Reviews For Family Matters
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: YumYumPM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Oct 20, 2021 8:40 pm Title: Chapter 5

Shame Melanie wanted to be a mother. She's not a very good one.

Reviewer: YumYumPM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Oct 18, 2021 9:15 am Title: Chapter 7

Want to find out how the siblings get along.

Reviewer: aglaja5 Signed [Report This]
Date: Oct 11, 2021 9:07 pm Title: Chapter 5

Hi! Most of the time there are always very simple explanations ... Haha :-) I hope we haven't annoyed you too much ... Have a great time with your brother!

So, this chapter ... I don't quite understand what's going on with Mel ... That she behaves like that towards Justin after she found out that he is back with Brian, okay ... understandable from her point of view .... But that she doesn't really care what happens to her daughter ... I just don't trust the whole thing yet ... And I hope she hasn't planned any of it or something ... I'm a little afraid that Justin might end up in jail or ... Or that was just the starting point for a completely different story and something terrible happened on the flight back ... :-) Ah, my imagination is just running through with me .... Oh, I'll just be patient until next Sunday. Stay healthy and warmest regards!



Author's Response:

I had a great time with my brother :) It was just lovely to spend time with him again for the first time since Christmas. He's back in Germany now, so I am back to my normal schedule ;) 

Melanie has always put her career first, we saw that on the show when she went to work and had to be put on bedrest and still continued to work. I just put that to the extreme for this story. 

Justin will be fine and he will be back in Pittsburgh the next day to celebrate Thanksgiving with his family :) I promise!

Though that won't mean that Melanie won't cause trouble for the Kinney-Taylor family, though maybe in a rather unexpected and surprising way ;) 

You are quite right about this whole Jenny/Mel thing just being a starting point for a completely different story, but what that story will be, we will find out in a couple of chapters ;) 

As always, thanks for sharing your thoughts :) More will be up tomorrow! Stay safe!

Reviewer: YumYumPM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Oct 11, 2021 12:50 pm Title: Chapter 5

It's good to know that the Kinney-Taylors want to take care of Jenny.



Author's Response:

Yeah, Jenny deserves people around her that love her and want to take care of her :)

Thanks for your comment! More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: Frosty70 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Oct 10, 2021 12:29 pm Title: Chapter 5

You go Justin!!!  Shes a real beyotch.



Author's Response:

Yes, she is - she won't change in this universe ;)

Thanks for your comment! More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: bksbracelet Signed [Report This]
Date: Oct 09, 2021 4:14 am Title: Chapter 4

Brian did a great job and I think Debbie Gus Brian and Justin are just what Jenny needs.



Author's Response:

I agree! Jenny needs a loving family and if anything that's hopefully what the Pittsburgh family can give her :)

Thanks for your comment! More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: aglaja5 Signed [Report This]
Date: Oct 05, 2021 9:14 am Title: Chapter 4

Hi! It's funny how I'm used to getting a response on Saturday. I was even a little bit worried ... No, don't take me too seriously. ;-) Briefly about our situation in Germany. I'm so upset that Laschet, after the results of the CDU (I mean, it's not just about the 1.6 percent that the SPD has more. It's also about the SPD winning five percent against the CDU losing 8 percent. And it is also about the fact that very few people in Germany want to have Laschet as Chancellor ....) continue to try to become Chancellor .... Arrggghhh!


So, your chapter. When will Brian finally believe in his abilities as a father... :-) I think he treats Jenny very sensitively and yes, at 17 she has a right to get to know the whole truth. I'm really curious to see what goes on with Mel. It all seems so weird to me and I'm really worried about Justin ... And there was the question if Jenny can be trusted... I really got the impression she  knew nothing about the past so what should she be up to... so many questions... I hope you are well! Looking forward to Sunday!



Author's Response:

Don't worry! Everything is okay here, no evil reason for not responding. Now that my brother has returned to Germany, I am back to my normal schedule ;)

It looks like Laschet finally seems to have accepted that there won't be a Jamaika coalition but an Ampel. Thankfully!

I think Brian will always be too hard on himself and will never trust himself to be a good father, which is why he needs Justin around to tell him ;) 

I agree, I feel like he did really well telling Jenny a lot of very painful history about their family. She deserved the truth and I think he did as best as he could under the circumstances. 

Jenny can be trusted as much as you can trust any teenager ;) She's not lying about anything and she really didn't know anything because Melanie never shared anything with her. 

There will be some interesting events coming up!

Thanks for your comment :) More will be up tomorrow!

Reviewer: Frosty70 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Oct 04, 2021 12:52 pm Title: Chapter 4

I hope Melanie stays away. Loving this.



Author's Response:

I can't promise that ;)

Thanks for letting me know! More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Oct 03, 2021 7:16 pm Title: Chapter 4

Justin needs to come home.  JR needs all the loving she can get.



Author's Response:

Justin will be back home in a day.

And Jenny will get that love, the Pittsburgh family will welcome her the way she deserves :)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow! :) 

Reviewer: aglaja5 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 30, 2021 8:05 am Title: Chapter 3

Hi again! What do you think of our elections? That Laschet didn't congratulate Scholz was a bit "trumpic", wasn't it? :-) Well, I wanted red-green-red, but I now hope that the SPD, the Greens and the FDP can come to an agreement ... I can't say anything about the Berlin elections because I didn't want either Giffey or Jarasch and it was clear that it would be one of the two...


Well, a few more words about "Eragon". This is also more of a four-part book series. The first part was made into a film, but I don't think I've ever seen such a bad film adaptation of a novel. Dreadful. I got so angry about it for months, I'm still angry thinking about it :-) The only little bright spot was maybe Garrett Hedlund as Murtagh - everything else was horrible, terrible...


Yes, I understand what you wrote about Mel ... I'm torn too. There are scenes where I like her, find her funny or I feel sorry for her, and then there is the other side, which you also mentioned ... I like stories in which Melanie reconciles with Brian, and they do both stop to let Lindsay manipulate them both anymore. But, I'm not a Melanie lover and so I have no problem at all if you treat her as anti-Mel. Oh dear, this new chapter or the end doesn't suggest anything good. For one thing, I don't understand that she is so absolutely unreachable and I am very curious because I have absolutely no idea. On the other hand, the end of this chapter sounded like Justin and Brian won't see each other for a long time and that scares me a little...


So, looking forward to Sunday! Warmest regards ad stay healthy!



Author's Response:

Sorry about not replying to your comment earlier - as mentioned, my brother was here and it was the first time I have seen him since Christmas, so I didn't want to spend my time on the computer when I could spend it with him ;)

Yeah, I was hoping for red-green as well and it bothers me that Lindner will most likely become the new minister of Finance (mostly because I don't want to see his arrogant face in the news day in and out), but in general I am glad that we're not having another CDU led government...

Yes, Laschet on the the eve of the election really pissed me off. You lost! Your party only came in second, so the duty to build a government doesn't lie with you, but with the SPD! It seems like he has finally accepted it though... 

It looks like the elections in Berlin were quite a mess :/ 

Yes, this story will definitely not portray Mel in a likeable way - it will be in line with her portrayal in The Pittsburgh Years. As for Justin and Brian, Justin will only be gone for a day as planned and will then return to Pittsburgh, nothing sinister will happen to him while in Florida ;)

As always, thanks for your comment! More will be up tomorrow! :) Stay healthy!

Reviewer: aglaja5 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 23, 2021 7:06 am Title: Chapter 2

Hi! No, I wasn't out of Berlin at all, but just having time off and being at home is nice too. I live in a house with a small garden, so it's great to spend freetime at home too. I've never been to Ireland, but it must be beautiful. Mabye some day in the future ... When I was around 20 years old, I was a big X-files fan and read a lot of fanfictions at that time. But that passed pretty quickly. And two years before Queer as Folk I read "Eragon" with my son (don't know if I had told you that before) and fell totally in love with Murtagh. So I ended up with fanfiction about him and actually he is also to blame for the fact that I found Queer as Folk. There were stories about him and Eragon and I found the two of them perfect together. The only problem ... they are half brothers ... well ... and then I found Brian and Justin!

So, the second chapter ... As always, wonderfully written and I'm so curious ... I'm a little suspicious whether Jenny's story is really true. I have to admit, I like Mel ... I always felt sorry for her because in my opinion Lindsay played Mel and Brian off against each other. But well, the anti-Mel-tag is there, so... But, whatever! I'm really curious how it'll continue! By the way, I so love how you picture them as a family! Warmest regards and stay healthy!



Author's Response:

Ireland is extremely beautiful - Dublin itself is well... a big city... but once you leave Dublin (even where I live now, 20 minutes away from city centre), you'll have beautiful beaches, cliffs, amazing scenery. It's definitely worth a visit :)

Ooooh, X-Files. I remember meeting with a friend every Monday in the 90's and watching new episodes together on ProSieben. Loved the show at the time. It was Buffy, Angel and X-Files that we always watched together and we would discuss episodes afterwards for hours, sometimes even days later. I still can't hear Tunguska without thinking of X-Files ;)

As for Eragon, I have to admit that that passed me by, somehow. At the time there had been so much fantasy (Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Narnia, etc.) that I felt quite saturated when it came to fantasy.

Back to Jenny: Can she be trusted? Hmmmm, good question. We'll find out soon!

With Melanie, I always feel torn and much depends on how I feel about her on a certain day lol. Sometimes I feel sorry for her, like you said and then again, she just pisses me off. She's a lawyer, so smart on some level and then allowed Lindsay to play her like that and honestly? Even if Lindsay played her and Brian off against each other - she went along with it. She never gave him a chance, she never had a good word for him and yet she always went for him for help as well when she and Lindsay were in trouble again (the French man, for example)... Unfortunately, for Melanie lovers, the day I decided where to go with her character in this universe, I didn't feel too empathatic and went with anti-Mel ;)

We have to remember what Mel did in Back for Good - The Pittsburgh Years and how things ended between her and Brian, and probably more importantly, between her and Gus. Of course that will determine a lot of the interactions with Mel in this story.

What can I say? I just love me some Kinney-Taylor family. They are certainly a happy place ;)

As always, thank you so much for your comment! It's much appreciated and more will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: aglaja5 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 18, 2021 12:33 am Title: Chapter 1

Hey! Welcome back! Yes, I still exist :-) I sometimes wonder what QAF and especially Brian and Justin did to me. I mean, it's not uncommon to me that when I've finished a good book or watched a good movie, that I can't break away, that I want to stay in this universe, that I don't want it to end and go back to reality. But I've never experienced anything like with what I go through with Brian and Justin. I've been an addict for 5 years now ;-) and while trying to stay away from the real people at first, I have to admit it didn't work out. Unfortunately, I'm falling more and more in love with a gay American. Crazy. Life sucks! :-)

Hey and now the elections will be here soon. I'm really looking forward to our elections in Germany this time. Everything is still so open. Are you vaccinated now? Did it went  well?

But now to your story. I was really happy when I saw you started a new one! And it's a very exciting start! I'm curious to see what JR experienced, why she visits Gus, what she's up to ...

Warmest regards and stay healthy!



Author's Response:

Haha, I know what you mean. There aren't a lot of fandoms I am still in after so many years. It's really just QAF and my one true love, Lord of the Rings. Though I left fanfiction behind a long time ago in that fandom and it's really just about the original Lord of the Rings story, the books, the movies, the friends I made in that fandom by now. 

But yeah, Lord of the Rings is the one I go to conventions for, it's the one where I have met the actors, where I went to New Zealand to see the locations, etc. I am a total nerd when it comes to Middle Earth *lol* 

And falling in love with a gay man? The story of my life. For some reason, I have always been closer to gay men than straight men and I have so many gay friends, but alas, they're all gay... I love them to death and all, but why are the best-looking, nicest men always gay? :/ I also seem to like a lot of gay actors (probably because my friends love them as well and talk about them all the time), gay shows, etc. I could probably give Debbie a run for her money :P 

Yes, I got my second jab early in August. I didn't really have any side effects, just felt a bit tired the next day and had two hot flashes, that was it. 

I went travelling to County Kerry with a friend two weeks ago and we explored Ireland some more. It reminded me that there was a reason why I moved to Ireland in the first place ;) It's just absolutely gorgeous and it was great to get out of Dublin for a bit and see something else.

My brother will come and visit me in two weeks, my first visitor since the pandemic started, so I am really excited for that :)

Did you get out of Berlin for a bit?

I am glad that you're giving this new story a chance! We'll get some answers to the why is Jenny there, what is she doing there, etc. soon.

This story will be a wild ride, I can promise that ;)

As always, thanks for your comment! More will be up tomororw :)  

Reviewer: YumYumPM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 16, 2021 10:40 am Title: Chapter 1

Technically she is not Gus' sister since their parents are not the same.  What is she up to.  Will she be a good character or a trouble maker like her dad?



Author's Response:

You know that her and Gus aren't really related and I know that, but does Jenny know?

Answers will follow soon. I can promise that this story will be a wild ride ;)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow! 

Reviewer: Frosty70 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 15, 2021 5:34 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh... my... gosh!!! This is gonna be interesting. Great start!



Author's Response:

Yep, it will be a wild ride ;)

Thanks for your comment - I am glad that you're giving this story a chance!

More will be up tomorrow :)

Reviewer: Maxsmom Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 15, 2021 1:27 am Title: Chapter 1

So glad you’re back. Love this series!

Author's Response:

Awwww, thank you so much :)

I hope you'll enjoy this story as well!

More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: bksbracelet Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 14, 2021 11:50 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ooohh interesting start 



Author's Response:

I am glad that you liked it. Thanks for giving the story a chance :)

More will be up tomorrow!

Reviewer: nickknack Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 13, 2021 2:02 am Title: Chapter 1

Yay, and already we have a mystery :-)



Author's Response:

Yes, we do ;) I promise that answers will follow soon!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

You must login (register) to review.