Reviews For Tricky Business
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: The SNO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 14, 2021 3:19 am Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

The part with Vic, Brian, Gus and Justin is just delightful! The way they interact is a great joy.

Regarding the bowling part, I'm wondering how Debbie can hold the ball with her long nails.

Thank you for this long update :)



Author's Response:

We had a blast writing the breakfast scene and hope we provided Sherry (sophiesmom) with just what she wanted. The four guys and their feathered friend make a great combo :) (Harley says all the credit for that should go to him :D)

Deb claims she's been bowling with those nails for years - and it's never stopped her yet. One has to wonder if there could be a problem in the future though...

Thanks for commenting, Claire! :) We're thrilled you're still reading. A teaser for the next chapter is now up in the FanDoc. Check it out if you haven't yet.

~ KaBrynn, aka Karynn & Brynn

Reviewer: cullengirl08 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2021 11:43 am Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

I recently started and am now all caught up with the story, and I'm loving it!! I am so so happy that Brian and Justin are back together and Justin is back at the loft, where he belongs. I am very much looking forward to seeing how Justin's appt goes to see how he's improving, as well as finding out what new info Carl has about the burglary. Hopefully, he will be able to shed a little light into what really happened.

Author's Response:

Welcome to our story, Sarah! :) We're thrilled to have you and to hear how much you like Tricky Business.

You're lucky to have waited... You didn't have to endure the slow burn before Justin and Brian got back together. They still have a ways to go, but it looks like they're headed in the right direction. (You wouldn't want us to be too definite about that, right? :D)

We're working on the scene at the urologist's now, along with a few other scenes. We're all rooting for the blond to get a clean bill of health!

Carl and Wen report that they are making progress with the burglary and soon may even be able to shed a little light on what happened. Whatever "soon" means in cop-speak...

Thanks for commenting! :) It's much appreciated. There's finally a teaser up in the FanDoc for the next chapter. Take a look if you haven't already.

~ KaBrynn, aka Karynn & Brynn

 

Reviewer: Lorma Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2021 3:47 am Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

Awesome as usual.  Love the humor in this story.  Looking forward to Justin healing so he and Brian get back to "business".  I do want Hobbs to get what is coming to him eventually.  I hope that is in the cards. 



Author's Response:

We're thrilled you liked this chapter and that you're still reading :)

You're not alone in wanting Justin and Brian to get back to business. It's hard to say which of the boys is more desperate!

Rest assured, we're looking at ways to deal with Hobbs. It may be quite a long time before we get there though.

Thanks for commenting, Karla! :) There's finally a teaser up in the FanDoc. Take a look if you haven't already.

~ KaBrynn, aka Karynn & Brynn

Reviewer: liindaa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2021 9:03 pm Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

I loved this chapter! I don’t like spiders but Spinderella is welcome to visit my home :D

Downloading is so quick and easy now :) Thank you.

Author's Response:

Neither of us is fond of spiders either (understatement), but we'll also make an exception for Spinderella :D

We're thrilled that the ePub download is working now!

Thanks for commenting, Linda :) There's now a teaser in the FanDoc if you haven't seen it yet.

~ KaBrynn, aka Karynn & Brynn

Reviewer: marie-france Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2021 1:07 am Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

Great chapter girls! Gus and Harley seem to understand each other more and more it's hilarious. And this breakfast was all you need to start the day right (mine isn't it!) And it makes me so regret that we didn't see more of this Vic in the show.

Watching them at the bowling  was fun. They really want to win against the police team but hey there are some who are really bad. Ben and Ted are very cute, they go well together.

I am now waiting for the visit to the urologist and I hope Justin is doing better even though it is still painful.

When will we see Hobbs and the leaders of St James Academy finally punished? What about the theft of the loft? So many questions. I will patiently wait for the next update. Stay safe and healthy Ladies



Author's Response:

We're thrilled that you liked this chapter so much. It may be our most popular installment yet.

Gus and Harley are a blast to write. We suspect they may get each other in trouble in the future :D Who will be to blame?

The bowling scenes were a bit of challenge... We kept getting distracted by that hunk in the neighboring lane, along with everyone else :D We had to be careful that the scores added up correctly. Most of them could use more practice, right? Justin would probably appreciate company when he's practicing with Michael; his WASP upbringing really did the blond no favors :D

We're working on the scene with the urologist now, along with a few others. It will be a while, but we'll push out the next chapter as soon as we can. Justin's already doing better than before his visit to the ER and his encounter with Darth :) We'll just have to hope that the urologist will confirm that he's healing as he should...

We can't give you answers to your questions just yet, although Carl and Wen assure us they are making progress with the loft robbery, and Wen plans to put the 'fear of Wen' into Dr. Perkins again. She's annoyed that he didn't get the message the first time.

You stay safe and healthy too, Marie-France :) Thanks for commenting!

~ KaBrynn, aka Karynn & Brynn

Reviewer: YumYumPM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Apr 30, 2021 8:44 am Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

Wow!  So glad to see more of this.  Love the bowling sequence, wish I knew why the hunk had to leave, there's a story behind that.  Love Gus and Harley.  Glad someone knows what Gus speak is.  Great job.



Author's Response:

We're so pleased that the bowling scene was a success :) It took a few attempts to get all the scoring right.

That hunk of Em's - and everyone else's - may just reappear and inspire some more dreams :D Stay tuned.

We always have fun writing Gus and Harley. Who's most likely to get the other one in trouble? :D

Thanks for commenting, Phyllis! There's a teaser up in the FanDoc if you haven't had a chance to check it out yet.

~ Karynn & Brynn, aka KaBrynn

Reviewer: bksbracelet Signed [Report This]
Date: Apr 30, 2021 1:21 am Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

I loved it and I look forward to the urologist appointment in the next chapter. Loved the use of Brian's love name Ragazzo used by Vic and Debbie 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Chris! :) We're made up that you enjoyed this chapter. It seems to have been a hit!

We're working on the urologist appointment right now, along with a few other scenes. In the meantime, there's a teaser up in the FanDoc. We think it's a good one, even if it has nothing to do with the appointment.

Brian deserves a sweet nickname, right? Even if he does occasionally get hit with something less sweet :D

~ Karynn & Brynn, aka KaBrynn

Reviewer: Frosty70 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Apr 29, 2021 6:57 pm Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

Glad to see an update. Great writing

Author's Response:

Thanks, Cathy! :) We're thrilled you enjoyed it.

At long last, there's a teaser in the FanDoc! Read slowly; it will need to last you a while :D

~ KaBrynn, aka Karynn & Brynn

Reviewer: coleamber Signed [Report This]
Date: Apr 29, 2021 4:49 pm Title: Chapter 47: Tuesday, December 19th

thanks for a great update



Author's Response:

You're welcome :)

~ KaBrynn

Reviewer: Glo Signed [Report This]
Date: Mar 23, 2021 11:03 am Title: Chapter 46: Monday, December 18th

My name made the story!! My name made the story!! No, I am not a motorcyclist, I've only been on a bike once in my life hahaha I know, weird for a lesbian. God, I'm such a child lol Thank you guys so much, I am humbly honored & blessed.... ;* ;*

Love the Kinnitek bunch at the loft, so funny! Omg remember her name for the love of God Ted! 

Halleujah! Partners finally! Let's all sing together....Halleujah!!! The boys are so cute!!!

I've really missed you guys, I've been kinda MIA lately. 



Author's Response:

:D :D Your enthusiastic review has me (Karynn) smiling, Glo. Brynn and I are thrilled that you liked the nod... even if you have only been on a motorbike once :D

Who will learn Bethany's name first - Ted or Brian? It may be a toss-up, although Brian's less likely to use it, despite the oh-so-helpful Beethoven reference. Ted had better not call her Gerthany again, or Bethany may come back with something even worse for him. Watch out, Theodore!

Hmm, all our readers seem to be made up about the boys being partners... Why would that be? :P

We've missed you too, Glo. Apologies for the belated reply - I just realized that with KD's switch to the new hosting service, I'm no longer receiving notifications of reviews :(

~ Karynn & Brynn

PS A shameless plug for my latest fic, Lover's Spit. You can find it here: https://www.kinnetikdreams.com/viewstory.php?sid=1642. Warning: It may give you ice cream cravings :D

Reviewer: liindaa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Mar 22, 2021 5:31 pm Title: Chapter 46: Monday, December 18th

The hearts didn’t show up rght :( so I’m redoing my review.

Thank you, thank you for letting me know downloading from here works again! I just tried and it worked perfectly. It’s even faster than AO3!

I just love this story and am so excited that there will be a new chapter “soonish” :)

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Author's Response:

Yay, success! I'm (Karynn) so glad the download function is working again. Thanks for commenting, Linda :) We'll keep working to get that next chapter ready - the hearts are very motivational :)

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: BritinManor Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Jan 10, 2021 12:35 pm Title: Chapter 37: Saturday, December 9th

Aha! I finally got another chapter read. I was tickled when Brian found out Bob - wasn't Bob - but was Eric. So who's BOB???? LOL...If he only knew it was an acronym. (And Eric needs to take a hint and go - buh-bye!) And he'll be lucky if his old and skinny comments don't get a hit out on him! LOL.

And at least Brian just got 'tar' for coffee, and not something so hot it burned him. He should be greatful for small favors. BTW - Have you ever had coffee in the south? I literally could not drink the coffee down there. Thus my addiction to diet Pepsi now. I couldn't add enough hot water or half and half to make it acceptable.

I'm worried about Justin. How does anyone work three jobs, go to school, and tutor and NOT burn out? And I'm afraid when he crashes it isn't going to be pretty.

And I absolutely love Marvella! She's a doll!

And Mr. Kinney didn't go to Babylon and throw his tricking in Justin's face - I'm proud of him! But he also missed out on seeing Justin in his new dancing briefs. THEY might have given Brian some good fantasy moments.

And what's going on with Lindsay? Or am I reading something into this? I didn't like the way she talked on the phone.

Did you switch up canon? staggering into the loft with Mr Hotlanta and referring to Justin as an ‘out of town' guest. Because in the show - when Justin asked: Who's he? Brian said: He's an out-of-town guest. (not a biggie though.) Just curious.

Hugs,

Cathy



Author's Response:

We're still having fun with BOB :D Even if Brian isn't :D At least we've deflected the danger away from Daphne, who was responsible for those "old and skinny" comments in canon.

I've (Karynn) had coffee in the South (my ex was from Alabama), but I think my palate must've already become inured to a thick brew. I even learned to drink Turkish coffee, although not on a regular basis.

It's definitely not "pretty" when Justin crashes, as you may have already discovered.

Yay! Marvella's a hit with you! We've been having a lot of fun with some of our original characters, as well as developing some of the minor characters from canon.

Brian will get an eyeful of those new briefs. Whether he'll manage to repress his possessive side (yes, Mr. Kinney, you are possessive) is another matter...

WASPy Lindsay sometimes gets snooty without realizing how she's behaving.

"Staggering into the loft with Mr Hotlanta and referring to Justin as an 'out of town' guest" is what is known as a Tricky Business blooper. :D :D Once I stop laughing, I'll have to fix it.

Thanks for the wonderful review, Cathy! :) We always enjoy your comments.

Hugs back atcha,

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: wellreadbunny Signed [Report This]
Date: Dec 29, 2020 12:02 am Title: Chapter 46: Monday, December 18th

Great Christmas gift.



Author's Response:

You're welcome :) We're thrilled you enjoyed the latest installment :)

Happy 2021!

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: marie-france Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Dec 24, 2020 9:50 am Title: Chapter 46: Monday, December 18th

Another excellent chapter Ladies! Bethany (or Gertrude or Trudy) is a very good match for the team, she will know how to defend herself!

The shopping with Debbie Justin and Emmett were quite a show, thank you.

Gus is a smart little guy and the only one who talks to Harley. And so Michael is a cheater and you can't trust him, I had no doubts but Theodore let it slip away.

So I'm looking forward to what Carl will announce to Brian and hope Brian tells him about Justin's POA. It's a busy day!

Have a good holiday too and see you next year!



Author's Response:

We're thrilled you enjoyed this latest installment, Marie-france :) You were one of only two readers (as far as we know) who carved out time to read before Christmas.

Are you familiar with Costco? There's all of one in France so, if not, we hope we provided a good introduction to the warehouse store. Close to a major holiday (US Thanksgiving or Christmas) is not the best time for a visit, especially in a big city. Emmett and Debbie added their own flair to the shopping experience, of course :D

As Phyllis (YumYumPM) noted in her review on AO3, Gus speaks budgie :D He is a very bright little nipper.

Happy New Year!

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: coleamber Signed [Report This]
Date: Oct 24, 2020 5:50 am Title: Chapter 45: Sunday, December 17th - Part 2

Thanks for update.  love it



Author's Response:

You're welcome. :) We're thrilled you enjoyed the chapter.

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: Glo Signed [Report This]
Date: Oct 20, 2020 5:45 pm Title: Chapter 45: Sunday, December 17th - Part 2

Caregiver & protector Brian are always my favorite! Love it so much! Finally, Justin is taking steps to really help himself and let himself accept help from others. I could just see him in Brian's coat, all snuggly & warm. 

Now, I may be getting old but what was Justin painting on Brian's back, just for clarification? 

Jeez Emmett, I wish I had orgy buddies! I could use a good orgy right about now! Any takers?? I truly wonder how one goes about finding a lesbian orgy....hmmmm. Okay, enough about my lack of sex life....

Fabulous chapter ladies! I've missed reading QAF fanfic.



Author's Response:

We're made up that you like our protective Brian. :) Mind you, we like protective Justin just as much. There may be more of Justin snuggled into Brian's coat... never too much, right? ;)

Because Justin was stymied regarding a logo for Kinnetik - based on the letter K - Brian suggested that Justin draw a B on his back. Then he decided that a J should be added. What Justin did was paint representations of Brian and himself as the letters B and J. Brian (as the letter B) is standing behind Justin (the letter J), with his arms around Justin. The J is reversed, with the hook (the bottom of the J) facing away from Brian. Justin took it a step further, merging their arms, so that the blood from one is flowing into the other (and vice versa) - blue for Justin and red for Brian. You do have to use a bit (just a bit :D) of imagination, but hopefully that helps you picture it).

Sadly, those orgy buddies seem to be in short supply, except for Emmett. Brian and Justin as well as Ted and Ben could unquestionably get takers too, but they're all a bit preoccupied with their partners right now.

It took us a bit, but in case you missed the announcement, there's a teaser for the next chapter up in the FanDoc. We're working on the next installment, but it will be a bit before it's ready.

Thanks for the wonderful comments, Glo. :)

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: liindaa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 21, 2020 3:16 am Title: Chapter 45: Sunday, December 17th - Part 2

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

One heart for every 5000 words 🙂 I thought about one for every 1000 but I’d lose track 🤔😂

Author's Response:

Hearts are gladly accepted and returned ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ however many you want to leave. :)

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: BritinManor Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 15, 2020 9:09 pm Title: Chapter 45: Sunday, December 17th - Part 2

Okay... since I can't stomach another chapter of Michael's mouth, I'm leaving a totally different review...

I just had a few questions answered by our local Sheriff, Darren... our FB page is burning up... someone in the early morning hours made a B&E at our liquor store, so they're keeping everybody informed...

The cameras caught everything - they're trying to locate the guy... ANYWAY:

Brian's loft... there should have been cameras outside in that area, that would have at least seen the semi used in the robbery, and how many people. Or, why wouldn't there have been cameras INSIDE the building? One at the front door? Even in our little 1,000 people town, our building has them. And if the police got signed affidavits from the other people who reside in the apt. that they did not let anyone in, there's the matter of the front door of the building was opened with a key. So who all has keys?  Why hasn't this been questioned?  Why hasn't Brian thought of this stuff?

And HOW on the edge of Liberty Avenue in the middle of the day, did NOBODY see that much furniture being moved out and question it? And I'd think there would have to have been at least four people.

Well, I can't wait for the big reveal... but it'll probably be so ring of thieves...

Cathy



Author's Response:

There's loads more to the chapter - and the story - than Michael's mouth, so we hope you found bits to enjoy.

Keep in mind that Brian's apartment building is not a place of business, so there might not be cameras on the outside. Also, we're still in the year 2000, so what might be more common in 2020, wouldn't necessarily have been so back then.

Brian doesn't live right on Liberty Avenue. He's a few blocks away in a more residential area. There may be good reason that no one thought twice about the furniture being taken from the loft...

We can't answer all your questions about the robbery because that would give too much away. Nice try, though. :D :D Trust us, Detectives Horvath and Wen are on the job.

It'll be a while yet till the big reveal about the robbery; the detectives have reminded us that investigations take time.

Thanks for leaving a comment, Cathy. :) You know you're one of our favorite readers. :)

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: YumYumPM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 15, 2020 12:41 pm Title: Chapter 45: Sunday, December 17th - Part 2

So much interesting information.  An enjoyable chapter with appearances of Horvath, Wen and Gus.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Phyllis. :) We're glad you enjoyed this chapter. :)

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: marie-france Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 15, 2020 10:09 am Title: Chapter 45: Sunday, December 17th - Part 2

Justin is slowly healing and Debbie and Vic will help him! and he will focus on his studies and working with Brian I laughed imagining Brian's face when he left alone. I love Ted in your story and Emmett is still a good friend to Justin. The girls are just useless and Lindsay is a real bitch. Hope Wen goes to Hobbs and the Head of St James Academy to understand how horrible their behavior is. I look forward to this. Thanks girls again a great update! You made over 51,000 words strong wow Congratulations !! It was a good read. See you soon!



Author's Response:

Poor Brian. Our readers dare to laugh at him! Don't tell him, but the writers do too. :D :D

We're glad you like our Ted. Under different circumstances, we think Ted and Brian's friendship would have developed a lot sooner.

Is there anyone who doesn't want Wen to boot Jerkins, Dixon, and Hobbs out of St. James? Rest assured, she and Horvath are working on it!

We didn't actually have 50,000+ words as a goal for the chapter. Who would be that insane? :D That's the same as the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) goal. Not that we came close to writing that much in just one month...

Thanks for the wonderful comments, Marie-france. :) The teaser for the next chapter is up in the FanDoc, and we're working on the next installment. We'll do our best to get an update out before the end of the year.

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

Reviewer: BritinManor Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 14, 2020 3:01 am Title: Chapter 36: Friday, December 8th

Brian would totally double over: Brian is kinda old. Like, what?" she teased Justin. "Thirty-two?"

Having Wen visit is all fine and everything, but I still say the kids all need to start a petition again Dixon... and with signatures and complaints in hand, visit the schoolboard meeting. And also bring them all a nice styrofoam container of their school lunches.

until that blond brat came along. FUNNY! Brian Kinney ruined for other studs?!

Would you guys PLEASE have Brian tell Michael - LOUDLY AND IN PUBLIC - to put a sock in his mouth and shut the hell up?

And David needs to be told about Michael's play for Ben... hmm.. maybe Ben could innocently ask David if they're monogamous?

Hobbs better watch out. It looks like Justin has a better support system now... and as for Michael's GRAIN of kindness... yeah... I remember Christmas decorating time. One INCH forward - Ten FEET back!

HUGS  ~Cathy

Reviewer: BritinManor Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 14, 2020 1:59 am Title: Chapter 35: Thursday, December 7th

You guys start those sex scenes off like they're really happening... then you throw a glass of cold water on us, waking us to the fact it was another dream!

But the guys sure had lots of sexual innuendos this chapter!

I'm very sick of Debbie's 'My Michael' like he's the second coming of Christ! Geez, wake up woman and smell the pile of shit your son really is!

I can't figure out why they wouldn't accept Canadian currency in Pittsburgh! Heck, even in our little town in MN we get it during the summers! There has always been conversion charts at checkouts from way back in the 70s! (Christ! Am I that old?)

Vic must have a blast with Harley during the day teaching him everything raunchy!

Lindsay is a sanctimonious BITCH! And who nurses until a year????!!! Geez! I hate seeing mothers doing that!

You go, Brian! Telling Ted about the shit Michael pulled with Ben... let's just hope it gets worked into a conversation with everyone present. At least hidden nuances.

HUGS ~Cathy

Reviewer: BritinManor Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 14, 2020 12:53 am Title: Chapter 34: Wednesday, December 6th

Hey, girls! I had partial reviews written up... so I'm skimming through the chapters to remember everything!

PLEASE SHUT THAT F-ING MICHAEL'S MUG UP! I'm so sick of him. He's puke-worthy! And so help me if Michael is behind the robbery, then saying all that stuff to Justin, I'm going to round up a lynch mob!

Will Brian strong arm Emmett into revealing just who Bob/Bobs are? hehe...

HUGS  ~Cathy

Reviewer: coleamber Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 13, 2020 9:38 pm Title: Chapter 45: Sunday, December 17th - Part 2

Thanks for update.  Lindsey a bitch as always, nver liked her



Author's Response:

Thanks for leaving a comment. :) When Lindsay gets nervous or uptight, she becomes more self-righteous than usual.

~ KaBrynn

Reviewer: coleamber Signed [Report This]
Date: Mar 19, 2020 9:10 pm Title: Chapter 44: Sunday, December 17th - Part 1

did read it again from the beginning.  would like to know what is going to happen to Hobbs



Author's Response:

Reading the story again from the beginning is quite the compliment. :) Thank you! :)

You’re not the only one who wants to know what will happen to Hobbs. It may take a while for that to play out, however. 

Your review has helped motivate us to push forward with the next chapter, one small increment at a time. We are making progress, but it will still be a while before we're ready to post. No deadline, though, since we can't guarantee we'll meet it.

We truly are grateful for you and all the other readers who keep returning to our story despite the horrid, infrequent update schedule. :)

~ KaBrynn (Karynn & Brynn)

You must login (register) to review.